June 15, 2022
|
Clinics

Community Care Clinic for Disabled and Chronically Ill Movement Folks

No items found.

An ongoing community care peer support space aimed at expanding possibilities around how we live and work as disabled and chronically ill people.

Register
Registration Closed
Register for Part 2: Sex Worker Feminist Activism
Registration Closed
Register for Part 1: Trans-Feminist Activism
Registration Closed
 A peach to lavender gradient background featuring an illustration of a zoom call with multi-racial, multi-gender, disabled & chronically ill movement folks. Title is “Save the Date for Community Care Clinics For Disabled & Chronically Ill Movement Folks”. Text underneath title is the dates and times for the events on September 20th, October 3rd, and October 18th with link to register “bit.ly/PH-CCC”
Dates and Times

Tuesday, September 20th from 12-1:30pm PT / 2-3:30pm CT / 3-4:30pm ET

Monday, October 3rd from 12-1:30pm PT / 2-3:30pm CT / 3-4:30pm ET

Tuesday, October 18th from 3-4:30pm PT / 5-6:30pm CT / 6-7:30pm ET

Wednesday, November 9th from 3-4:30pm PT / 5-6:30pm CT / 6-7:30pm ET

Wednesday, November 23rd from 12-1:30pm PT / 2-3:30pm CT / 3-4:30pm ET

Tuesday, December 13th from 12-1:30pm PT / 2-3:30pm CT / 3-4:30pm ET

Tuesday, December 27th from 4-5:30pm PT / 6-7:30pm CT / 7-8:30pm ET


(More dates announced to be announced soon.)

Program Full-Description

Please join us in creating this community care peer support space.

There is a particular reality around what it means to be disabled and engaged in movement and social justice work.

The space will be animated by questions such as:

  • What does it mean in our activism, in our movements, in our work and in our communities to be all in?
  • What sacrifices are inherent, what do we gain, what do we give up and what is expected of us?
  • Am I worthy, do I have the ability to be in the movement, do I have a place here?

Unfortunately, support groups at home are often not enough. We need expanded possibilities around how we live and work as disabled and chronically ill people.

This clinic is ideal for:

Folks who identify as disabled and/or chronically ill and/or consider themselves to be movement or social justice warriors who believe in disability justice.

Clinic Outcomes:

The clinic space we are cultivating will be a supportive place where multiple realities can exist at the same time. We will meet around our truths: we can be active in the world and be honest about what must shift, when we must slow all the way down due to a flare up, a virus, or something else.

This will be a co-created peer-supported space grounded in restoration and action.

These clinics are ongoing meeting spaces. Please drop in and out as needed. Registering for the clinic space does not mean you must show up for every date. You are welcome to drop in and out of this space.

Access

Access requests can be made by emailing Dustin at dustin at peopleshub dot org, including ASL interpretation. The space itself will be access-centered in how we respond to the needs of each other by working collectively with the facilitator and tech support lead to ensure access for all of us.

What do you do to prepare?

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to speak and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, and headphones.

Program People
delicate and naturalistic gray scale drawing of a hummingbird hovering upright.
Program Schedule
No items found.

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Cost

Free, or pay what you can. All donations help support our trainers and further our mission.