June 18, 2022
|
Suites

Practicing as an Artist in the Solidarity Economy

No items found.

A series for creatives to practice solidarity economy principles, get inspired by other aligned artists, participate in creative self-reflection, and weave networks of mutual support.

Register Now
Registration Closed
Dates and Times

Circle: Saturday, June 18th from 10am-12pm PT/ 12-2pm CT/ 1-3pm ET

Workshop: Monday, June 27th from 4-6pm PT/ 6-8pm CT/ 7-9pm ET

Clinic: Tuesday, July 5th from 4-6pm PT/ 6-8pm CT/ 7-9pm ET

Program Full-Description

How do we show up to this moment as artists and cultural workers? Capitalism is decomposing and the solidarity economy is emerging. It’s time to avoid “going back to normal.” Artists know plenty about non-normality, but we get stuck in the confines of exploitation and the hustle of undervalued work. We need each other to get free.

How can we create support networks between artists who want to make art about and within the solidarity economy? How can we ensure our needs are met to actualize our creative dreams? As we build ecosystems of relationships where co-creation and cooperation can flourish, the narrative of the individualistic starving artist dies.

This series will create a space for us to practice solidarity economy principles as creatives. There will be opportunities to get inspired by other aligned artists, participate in creative self-reflection, and weave networks of mutual support.

Trainers:

Ebony Gustave & Robin Bean Crane (Cooperative Journal Media)

This Series is ideal for:

  • Artists and cultural workers who are seeking ways to create, collaborate, and meet their needs within the solidarity economy.
  • Cultural workers who want to support each other to unlearn capitalist paradigms, and uphold cooperative values in our creative process.
  • Cultural strategists who are dreaming up projects that can support our collective transition.

Outcomes:

Participants will leave with:

  • A greater understanding of the solidarity economy framework
  • Clarity (and/or questions!) about your role as an artist in the solidarity economy
  • Connections with other aligned creatives
  • Ways to plug into solidarity economy organizing
  • An understanding of the solidarity economy and how it can meet the needs of working artists

What do you do to prepare?

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to share and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, with video and headphones.

Also, please consider reading:

Accessibility:

Access requests can be made during registration or by emailing Dustin Gibson at dustin@peopleshub.org, including interpreters and captioners.

Program People
Program Schedule
No items found.

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Cost

Choose what to pay, starting at $40. The true cost of this series is $100/person. At PeoplesHub we are committed to communication access, radical hospitality, supporting facilitators, and making our offerings financially accessible. This sliding scale allows us to continue offering programs like this one and pay trainers, interpreters, captioners, and other support staff a fair wage for their time and expertise. Like you, those who support our trainings work hard for change in their communities and have often developed the knowledge, skill and gifts that they are offering through many unpaid hours — let’s support them to be sustainable in their work and craft!