November 9, 2021
|
Circles

We Won’t Go Back: WTF is Normal?

No items found.

Join disabled organizers and artists to explore stories about vaccines, medications, institutions, prisons, and the impact of “returning to normal” on our daily lives.

Register
Registration Closed
Register for Part 2: Sex Worker Feminist Activism
Registration Closed
Register for Part 1: Trans-Feminist Activism
Registration Closed
Light blue background with dark blue text that reads We Won't Go Back: WTF is Normal? Centered is an illustration of a person holding an open book with a hospital tag on their wrist and IV in their arm. The book contains info for the circles. Part 1, Tuesday, November 9th 3-5 pm PT | 6-8 pm ET. Host: Dustin Gibson. Guests: Aerik Woodams, JD Davids, Sterling Johnson. Part 2, Wednesday, November 10th 1-3 pm PT | 4-6 pm ET. Host: Cyree Jarelle Johnson. Guests: Elena House-Hay, Deborah Grace, Tom Olin. PeoplesHub logo and "ASL/English interpreters and live captioning provided" is also visible.
Dates and Times

Part 1: Tuesday, November 9th from 3-5pm PST/ 5-7pm CST/ 6-8pm EST

Part 2: Wednesday, November 10th from 1-3pm PST/ 3-5pm CST/ 4-6pm EST

Program Full-Description

Part 1:

The CDC has declared social distancing and masks unnecessary for vaccinated people, and many states have “re-opened” for capitalist activities. Organizers are under pressure to return to a normal that always excluded disabled people. Disability justice reminds us that access is a choice. What will our movements and your organization choose?

Join with disabled organizers to hear stories from the frontlines of negotiating access during the “reopening” period of COVID-19. What can we collectively do differently to put the “normal” period of disabled exclusion in our movements behind us?

What do we need to do now to stop what is coming and build sustainable movements?

Part 2:

The CDC has declared social distancing and masks unnecessary for vaccinated people, and many states have “re-opened” for capitalist activities. We are under pressure to return to a “normal” that always excluded disabled people.

How are disabled people navigating and resisting the push to return to the “normal” of exclusion and violent disregard?

Join disabled organizers and artists to explore stories about vaccines, medications, institutions, prisons, and the impact of “returning to normal” on our daily lives.

Part 1:

Host: Dustin Gibson

Guests: aerik woodams, Sterling Johnson, & JD Davids

Part 2:

Host: Cyrée Jarelle Johnson

Guests: Tom Olin, Deborah Rosenstein, & Elena House-Hay

This series is ideal for:

Organizers and cultural workers. The second session is particularly important for non-disabled people, especially those with little access to disabled people and communities.

Circle Outcomes:

Part 1:

Participants will leave with tools and guidance for how to practice access and inclusion in this period of COVID-19 and beyond.

Part 2:

Participants will deepen their understanding of how COVID-19 and the push to reopen is impacting disabled people, and ways they can intervene in the narratives and systems pushing us towards the exclusion, exploitation, and violent disregard of disabled lives.

What do you do to prepare?

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to share and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, with video and headphones.

Also, please familiarize yourself with these resources before Part 1:

Access:

ASL/English interpreters and live captioning will be provided.

Program People
delicate and naturalistic gray scale drawing of a hummingbird hovering upright.
Program Schedule
No items found.

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Cost

Free or by donation. Donations support us to continue offering programs like this one and pay trainers a fair wage for their time and expertise. Like you, our trainers work hard for change in their communities and have often developed the knowledge, skill and gifts that they are offering through many unpaid hours — let’s support them to be sustainable in their work and craft!. Our offerings are typically sliding scale from $20-$50